APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

APPLICATION FOR THE ENCORE TRANSITION PROGRAM AT UNION THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY

Thank you for your interest in The Encore Transition Program at Union Theological Seminary. We are delighted you are considering joining this latest cohort of the program. We count on all participants to help with the evaluation and design and we’ve continued to improve the program along the way.

The Encore Transition Program will be online for fall 2022 and spring 2023 cohorts. Hosting the program online – using Zoom – allows us to build a cohort from around the country, even the world. The deadline to apply is Wednesday, August 10. 

The fall and spring sessions will accept between 12-15 participants so that everyone has the full opportunity to benefit from the discernment dialogues and experiential learning. We expect that all participants will be 55 years or older and that participants who come to the program have made a personal commitment to transition to some form of social justice or social purpose activity at this later stage of life. 

We will give preference to the earliest applications though we will also look to build a diverse group, including all religious beliefs, as well as the unaffiliated. The program will meet for eight sessions on Wednesday evenings every other week. The classes will take place online, on the following dates:                       

Fall Session 

Wednesday, September 7
Wednesday, September 21
Wednesday, October 5
Wednesday, October 19
Wednesday, November 2
Wednesday, November 16
Wednesday, November 30
Wednesday, December 14
 
Spring Session
 
Wednesday, January 25
Wednesday, February 8
Wednesday, February 22
Wednesday, March 8
Wednesday, March 22
Wednesday, April 5
Wednesday, April 19
Wednesday, May 3

 

There is a fee of $2,500 to join the Encore Transition Program which includes all costs at Union Theological Seminary. If you feel you are unable to cover the full fee, please add a note to your application for discussion of a possible reduced fee.

If you have any questions, please contact Ruth Wooden, director of the Encore Transition Program at woodenruth@gmail.com

Applications are due Wednesday, August 10, 2022. 

Forms

Encore Transition Program Application